Mexican Soil.

March 30, 2010

Hey everyone I just wanted to give a quick update and say that after about 40 or so hours of travel I have safely arrive in Mexico City!

I touched down at 4 am and was taken through customs. It was a little hard because the customs guy only spoke broken english, however after a bit of pointing at my cared I made it through.

Me and a few others were taken to a Church not to far from the airport where we got a few hours of sleep.  We soon were back up, and packing up our stuff because the church needed to get going for sunday morning services.  We were planning on just hanging out in the city and recovering a bit, but the pastor really wanted to introduce us to his congregation.  We were told we were going to Church about 10 min before the service started.  No problem though because the service went for 4 hours so we had time to get into it!

We had a translator for us but the pastor didn’t really acknowledge him much and really just continued on with his message so we caught broken sentances here and there over the cheers from the crowd.

After the service we went out for lunch with a man named Juan who is actually a body guard for the President here in Mexico City.  We headed back out to the street for dinner.  We ordered burgers off of a menu in spanish and were excited to see what we actually got because we had no clue what we were ordering.  After dinner the store owner pulled out his mini crocidile from his tank and we got to hold it!

That night I headed out to my region where I will be spending the next 11 weeks!  Our church is amazing… we have a great group of friends already, and most of them speak really good english which is a blessing.

As a team we are trying to read the bible over Mexico City in about 72 hours.  We pair up in 3’s and read for 3 hrs at a time.  The goal is to proclaim truth over the city!  As I sit here and write a team is reading in 2 kings and we are coming up on 24 hrs.

Mexico City is huge! Yesterday me and the Pastor and some of the girls went to Costco and did some shopping for the team.  I was definitely enjoying all the free samples as we went around.  It was really exciting to be in Costco with 2 girls from Australia who had never seen anything so big.  The language barrier has been a bit tough.  At Costco some of the girls were picking up a pizza, when some nice man started  taking our cart to the vehicle for us however he was following the wrong man.  I had to run down after him and tell him my ‘amigo’s’ were still over at the pizza place.

Mexico City is awesome and so are the people.  Every female in the church young and old greats you with a kiss on the cheek even if you don’t know them.  I’m still working on my technique but slowly getting the hang of it.

Thanks for all your prayers and messages.

In Christ, Jason Klammer

4 Responses to “Mexican Soil.”

  1. Mom said

    Jason,
    So good to hear from you and to see you on skype today. Love you. Thanking God for you and what he is doing in and through you. Save a kiss for me!!

  2. Jenica said

    Jason!
    Sooo excited for what God is going to do through you and your team in Mexico City. I love how you guys are reading the Bible over the city…what a unique and powerful way to begin the outreach.
    Keep on pressing into the Lord.
    -Jenica

  3. Seb said

    Bro I am so stoked for you! Mexico is ready for the harvest, wish I was still there helping you guys out. Go out man of God and preach the gospel for all to hear! Fear of the Lord! God bless man. Which church are you at? What is your area called? Send my love to Mexico for me!

  4. Karen Gleason said

    hey jason! I love what you think of our country (:
    I really hope to see you again ..take care.
    Blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

