Weeks 3 – 5

February 5, 2010

The past few weeks have been full of adventure.  We started off with a week learning all about Repentance and Forgiveness.  It was a powerful week!  Around YWAM this seems to be the week that everyone talks about.  We really dug into what sin is, and how sin is totally different from temptation.  It was cool to re-learn that we can be tempted by something and not submit to it in sin.  The way we do this is by not acting on our thoughts whether it be continually processing them in our mind, or following them in action.

One thing that really stuck out to me was the aspect of ‘True Repentance.’  I really learned that we can repent, and repent of things but by our own strength we will never move forward in Freedom.  God can help us, and is actually wanting to help us by completely taking away our burden.  The tough part is actually coming to him in humility and admitting we are weak and turning from our sin.

I want to thank everyone who has blessed me  in my  amazing up-bringing.  Mom and Dad by no means are you perfect, but you are such a blessing in my life.  I never have really realized how lucky I’m to have you guys in my life.  One of the things God really reveled to me was that I took that for granite way to much.  I’m so blessed to have such a rich inheritance in the faith!

Basically our week all came down to a 15 hr time of Forgiveness and Repentance.  Yes that says 15 not 1.5 hours.  One by one we got up in front of the class and cried out for forgiveness and help in areas of sin in our lives.  For some people it was the first time they have repented of things that have been kept in the dark for many years.  God totally showed up!  People were broken, but they were totally met by God.  That whole day really bonded our group as we realized that we all have had much of the same struggles, but we all want to move forward in victory and purity.

We also had Loren and Darlene Cunningham come speak to us this past week.  For those of you that don’t know they are the original Founders of YWAM.  They are now into their 70’s but by no means have they lost their spiritual fervour.  I loved to here there stories of faith, and how God has always come through for this organization.  One thing that really struck out to me was how much heavenly treasure they have stored up.  In all their time at YWAM they have never gotten a salary but God has totally provided.  They are so joyful and God is totally all over them.  It really spoke to me that an entire life in missions is possible, and is totally fulfilling.  Your not missing out by being in the mission field you are truly living the call of Jesus!

This past week our topic was on Worship and Intercession.  Once again I was really challenged in not expecting God to give me something out of worship, but to completely saturate him with the blessing and honor he deserves from my worship.  I have realized during my time here at YWAM that worship is not about what we can get but about what we can give.  It seems so cliché but over time the focus shifts from him to me and that is not what worship is.

This week as a base we started Evangelism.  As a base about 350 people descended on a local area of the city.  We started off with a time of worship on the beach, and then street by street groups prayer walked the entire community!  Over this month we will continue to go back and do things like door knocking, and even open air evangelism!  Could you please pray that we come in contact with the right people and that we can truly just share God’s jealous love for them!

If you would be able to pray into these areas that would be greatly appreciated.

  • Strength and Sharpness-  We have many late nights and early mornings and I want to be attentive and alert in class so I don’t miss out on what God is revealing.
  • Finance-  I have been incredibly blessed with finance, but many on my team still need money for lecture fee’s as well as outreach.
  • Mexico City! We will be going to Mexico City on Outreach from April – June and we really want to see the biggest city in the world totally catch fire for Jesus.

This is just a taste of what has been going on in my life.  God has truly been so good and is challenging me in so many ways!  I love you guys, and can’t wait to see you all, but I know this is my time and place for this season of my life.

Be Blessed.

Jason Klammer.

2 Responses to “Weeks 3 – 5”

  1. Mom said

    Blessings to you my son. Love you with all my heart. Excited to hear what God is showing you. Thanking God that He is revealing more of himself to you and that you are sharing that with us.

  2. Geoff said

    Hey Jason – nicely done man. Glad to hear that god is showing up in so many ways. Sounds like what you guys experienced was exactly what I was preaching about this week – about confession anyways. I also opened up about the need to confront people in their sin. Maybe that will come soon for you guys! 🙂

    Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

